Home » Other » Training & Certification » Difference Between "Redo Log Buffer" and "Database Buffer Cache"?
Difference Between "Redo Log Buffer" and "Database Buffer Cache"? [message #264177] Sat, 01 September 2007 08:19 Go to next message
raksaba
Hi,

I am totally new to Oracle.

I just want to know what is the difference between redo log buffer and database buffer cache?

Changes to the rows/columns are stored in database buffer cache and also in redo log buffer.

then what is the necessity to have redo log buffer?

Could anyone please explain with simple example?
Re: Difference Between "Redo Log Buffer" and "Database Buffer Cache"? [message #264181 is a reply to message #264177] Sat, 01 September 2007 09:01 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
Are you unwilling or incapable of Reading Then Fine Concepts Manual
which contains answers to all your questions plus many more?

http://download.oracle.com/docs/cd/B19306_01/server.102/b14220/toc.htm

If you won't read the answers in this manual why should folks expect you to read the answers posted here?
Re: Difference Between "Redo Log Buffer" and "Database Buffer Cache"? [message #264578 is a reply to message #264177] Mon, 03 September 2007 18:37 Go to previous messageGo to next message
marcosbr
Hi guys

anacedent:
We don’t need to be aggressive, I’m new with Oracle and I’ve read the first chapters of the books and I’ve a lot of doubts. Of course I haven’t all the concepts perfectly clear in my first time.

raksaba:
I was reviewing the concepts a Little bit, and it seems like the Buffer cache is communicated with data files and Redo logs buffers are communicated with redo log files.