Home » RDBMS Server » Enterprise Manager » Useful tips to run the Database smoothly on Windows
icon14.gif  Useful tips to run the Database smoothly on Windows [message #150852] Sun, 11 December 2005 03:22
venu500ag
How I maintain an Oracle10g Database on my PC
Hello friends. I think I am a newbie, but I like to share my way of handling the post installation tasks. (This is for an Installation on a Microsoft ® Windows XP Professional based Personal Computer and no Server).

Don’t forget to give a password to you OS account through which u use the EM.

My Systems Specifications:
1. Processor: AMD Sempron 2600+
2. RAM: 1 GB.
2. OS: Windows XP Professional (SP1).
3. Database Release: Oracle 10g Database Release1.
4. Other useful Software’s Installed: a) Open Office
b) Adobe Acrobat.
5. Hard Disk: Seagate 80GB.
6. Hard Disk Partitions (10 GB for OS + 10 GB + 30 GB + 30 GB).

I have installed the Operating System on my root C:\ drive and Oracle 10g Database on my D:\ drive.
About the database:
a) Global Database Name : orcl.india.com
b) SID: orcl
c) ORACLE_HOME: D:\oracle\product\10.1.0\db_1

1. Setting the ORACLE_SID parameter:

Open up the “System Properties” page by pressing the “Windows” key and “Pause” key simultaneously. Now go to the “Advanced” page and click the “Environment Variables” button. Here under the “System Variables” I click on “New” and create a new variable named “ORACLE_SID” (without the double quotes) and enter the value as “orcl” (again without the double quotes. I mentioned so, as I gave that name as the SID while I was installing Oracle). I click on “Ok” and exit from it.

2 Please give a password to your Operating System Account.

3. Setting right, the HOST CREDENTIALS PROBLEM:

Open the Start Menu  Administrative Tools / Control Panel – Administrative Tools  Local Security Policy  Local Policies.
Now look on the right hand side of the pane for the Policy Named “Log On as a Batch Job”.